The Governing Board work as a team. They are responsible for making sure the school provides a good quality education and raising educational standards in school is a key priority.

Governors promote effective ways of teaching and learning when setting the school aims and policies. They do this together with the head, who is responsible for the day to day leadership and management of the school.

The governing board is responsible to parents and the community. Appointments are for four years and the governing board’s main role is to help raise standards of achievement. It:

  • is accountable for the performance of the school to parents and the wider community
  • plans the school’s future direction
  • selects the head teacher
  • makes decisions on the school’s budget and staffing
  • makes sure the national curriculum is taught
  • decides how the school can encourage pupil’s spiritual, moral and social development
  • makes sure the school provides for all its pupils, including those with special needs.

The governors support and challenge the head teacher and other members of staff by gathering views, asking questions and deciding what’s best for the school. Governors are ultimately responsible for how the school is performing.

Governing board membership is a combination of appointed and elected governors. At Paulerspury C.E. Primary School the governing board consists of:

  • 3 Co-opted governors
  • 3 Foundation governors
  • 1 Head teacher
  • 1 Local Authority governor
  • 3 Parent governors
  • 1 Staff governor
NameGovernor TypeCommittee membershipDate appointedDate stepped downProfilePecuniary and business interests
Mr Robin BuntingHeadteacher1st September 2017None
Mrs Merrilyn BerryLocal AuthorityChair of Governing Board
Chair of Curriculum Committee
Member of Personnel Committee
14 November 2015EYFS Governor
Pupil Premium and Sport Premium Governor
Mr Andy BartlettCo-optedVice Chair of Governing Board
Chair of Personnel Committee
Clerk of Finance Committee
26 January 2015SEND Governor
Health & Safety, Buildings and Premises Governor
Ms Tina ChapellStaffMember of Finance Committee1 May 2014School Business ManagerNone
Mrs Nikki BlackwellFoundationMember of Finance Committee
Member of Curriculum Committee
22 March 2018None
Mrs Heather DeRitterFoundationNone16 February 201722 March 2018None
Mr James EmeryFoundationNone17 May 2016None
Mrs Hannah GrimseyCo-optedChair of Finance Committee
Member of Curriculum Committee
17 November 2016None
Mr Grant PorteousParentNone1 May 201522 March 2018None
Mrs Asa PearsonParentMember of Personnel Committee
Member of Curriculum Committee
1 November 2017English GovernorNone
Mrs Natalie DroughtParentMember of Finance Committee
Member of Personnel Committee
1 November 2017Safeguarding GovernorNone
Mr Craig BarnardCo-optedMember of Finance Committee
Clerk of Personnel Committee
4 December 2017Maths GovernorNone
Mr Anthony TolsonParentNone4 November 201620 June 2017None
Mrs Jacqui HuntFoundationMember of Personnel Committee
Clerk of Curriculum Committee
22 March 2018Church School GovernorNone
Mrs Linda O'SullivanClerk to Full Governing Board1 September 2017None


Attendance at FGB and Committees Dec18


Site designed by